Compression Classes

The level of pressure exerted on the legs depends on the severity of the patient’s condition: in principle, the greater the damage to the venous system is and the softer the connective tissue has become, the stronger and thicker the compression stockings must be.

The RAL-Norm distinguishes between four compression classes (Ccl.):

Compression class Indications
1 = slight compression
(18–21 mm Hg)
– as a preventive measure
– heavy and tired legs
– minor varicose veins without any significant edema susceptibility
– varicose veins during pregnancy
2 = medium compression
(23–32 mm Hg)
– greater discomfort
– more pronounced varicose veins with an edema susceptibility
– post traumatic swelling
– after the healing process of insignificant ulcerations
– after superficial thrombophlebitis, sclerotherapy and operations on vericose veins
3 = firm compression
(34–46 mm Hg)
– constitutional or post thrombotic venous insufficiency
– serious edema susceptibility
– secondary varicose veins
– white atrophy
– after the healing process of serious, recurrent ulcerations
4 = very firm compression
(49 mm Hg and more)

– lymphatic edema
– elephantiasis

Instead of one stocking in compression class 4, it is recommended
that two stockings, one from compression class 1 and one from compression
class 3, be worn one on top of the other, as they are easier to put